We know that it is important to recognize the commitment to maintain or acquire medical leadership knowledge and professional skills. The QMA submits a request for accreditation for continuing professional development (CPD) to an authorized accrediting organization for all its training activities or events that include training. You then receive CPD credits for every course taken with the QMA.

In addition, taking the courses in the QMA’s PMI Leadership program can qualify you for the Canadian Certified Physician Executive (CCPE) program.

CPD credits

For every training activity offered by the QMA, such as the PMI Leadership program or training at an event such as a symposium, a request for accreditation for a continuing professional development (CPD) activity is submitted to an authorized accrediting organization.

In order for training activities to be recognized under agreements with the RAMQ, two documents are provided:
• A certificate of attendance issued by the QMA, and given to participants on site with the receipt of payment;
• The certificate of credit for a continuing professional development (CPD) activity, delivered directly by the accrediting organization.

You can view your certificates of credit for a continuing professional development (CPD) activity on the Web site of the Centre de pédagogie appliquée aux sciences de la santé (CPASS) at the Université de Montréal.


Taking courses in the QMA’s PMI Leadership program could qualify you for the Canadian Certified Physician Executive (CCPE) program. This program, developed by the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) and the Canadian Society of Physician Executives (CSPE), is designed to recognize and advance physicians who show excellence in leadership in health care. Physicians who earn this certification have demonstrated that they have the necessary leadership capabilities, knowledge and skills to succeed, and to direct, influence and orchestrate change in a complex health care system.


To apply, physicians must satisfy the following conditions:
• Be a member of both the CMA* and CSPE;
• Be in good standing with their provincial licensing body;
• Have 5 to 10 years of leadership experience in a health care setting (requirement depends on the application route chosen);
• Have a cache of leadership accomplishments and educational experience (supported by evidence);
• Have a minimum of 2 years of experience in the Canadian health care system.

*QMA members are automatically CMA members.


Physicians seeking this credential can apply through two routes :

1) PMI-Academic route
This route recognizes the leadership development training given by the PMI (Physician Management Institute). Physicians must have completed at least five PMI courses from the CMA** within the past five years, and have five years of health care leadership experience demonstrating accomplishments in a senior management or executive position. They must also have accrued a 20 additional CME/CPD credits from other accredited leadership programs, further PMI physician leadership courses and/or accredited conferences.

**The courses in the QMA’s PMI Leadership program are recognized at the same level as the CMA’s PMI courses.

2) Practice eligibility route
Applicants must have at least 10 years of progressive leadership in senior or executive positions, supplemented by continuing educational achievements and documented evidence of leadership contributions that are significant and broad in scope.

Physicians are invited to apply by the deadline of October 31st, 2015, and applicants must fill out this form and forward it to each of three referees.

Visit the official site of the Canadian Certified Physician Executive (CCPE) program for all the details and application forms. If you need help to complete your application, or if you have questions, contact us. We would be pleased to assist you.