AMQInfo web EN

Bandeau pageContenu LesPrix EN

QMA excellence awards: the call for nominations will go out soon!

Every 2 years, at its convention, the Québec Medical Association presents its awards of excellence to physicians who are members of the association and who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of health care in Québec. The next edition of the QMA convention will be in April 2019. Consequently, the call for nominations for the awards of excellence to be presented at this event will go out very soon.

Four awards were presented last year:

  • The Prestige Award : This is the greatest distinction conferred on a QMA member. It acknowledges excellence and contribution to the advancement of medicine and society in humanitarian, ethical, scientific, socio-economic, and educational or communication fields.

• 2017 Recipients: Dr. Guy-Paul Gagné

As President of the Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada and Associate Professor of Obstetrics and Gynaecology with the Faculty of Medicine at McGill University, Dr. Guy-Paul Gagné is a leading figure in the field of obstetrics and gynaecology.

Each stage of Dr. Gagné’s career has proven a milestone in the advancement of obstetric practices. Among other things, Dr. Gagné is Chair of the MOREOB (Managing Obstetrical Risk Efficiently) program, which promotes safety in hospitals and birth centres across Quebec, Ontario and British Columbia.

His track record includes numerous collaborative projects with Health Canada and the Canadian Institute of Child Health, in addition to a host of scientific publications and conferences.


  • The Physician Manager Leadership Award : This award recognizes the leadership of a physician manager in the implementation of an innovative project or an innovative way to affecting the medico-administrative partnership, clinical governance, organization of services, influence or performance of the institution where he works or in the middle of practice.

• 2017 Recipients: Dr. Daniel Tardif

A physician, public health consultant, certified human resources professional, author, speaker, manager and business leader, the Director of professional services (DSP) of the Centre intégré de santé et des services sociaux de l’Outaouais (CISSSO), Dr. Daniel Tardif, boasts a multidisciplinary background that has led him to wear a variety of hats.

Since the start of his career, his interests have continually revolved around the management and human dimension of organizations. In parallel with his duties as a manager and business leader, Dr. Tardif also shares his expertise as a speaker and trainer. He sits on a number of committees and boards of directors in such varied sectors as tobacco consumption, cancer, workplace absenteeism management, and communicable disease, to name only a few.


  • The Emerging Professional Award : This award recognizes and rewards the exceptional commitment of a physician who has made an outstanding contribution to the training of future physicians in Québec in the past few years.

• 2017 Recipients: Dr. Ji Wei Yang

Dr. Yang’s efforts have made her an inspiring role model for up-and-coming physicians. In addition to being Chief Resident of her residency program in 2016, Dr. Yang has been a guest speaker for endocrinology students at all levels of training, and has authored six publications and more than fifteen scientific presentations for regional and international conferences.

A consummate professional, Dr. Yang is committed to the cause of vulnerable populations, among other things as a member of the Haitian Physicians Abroad and of the UdeM Haiti Glaucoma Group (UHGG). Her work earned her an award from Médecins Résidents du Québec in 2015 and a Leadership Award from the Association Canadienne du Diabète / Canadian Diabetes Association in 2016.


  • The Teaching-Clinician Award : This price rewards a resident and recognizes his/her significant commitment to society or to the medical community, or the quality of his/her research or publications which have contributed to the improvement of the delivery and quality of care.

• 2017 Recipients: Dr. Paul René De Cotret

The peers of Dr. René de Cotret rightfully describe him as an exceptional educator.

Dr. René de Cotret is a pillar of medical education, and particularly nephrology, at the Faculty of Medicine of Université Laval. He is an authority on pedagogy, and several professors at his faculty have adopted the instructional methods he has developed since his beginnings in the field.

In Dr. René de Cotret’s view, learning requires enjoyment, a passion for the subject matter, active link-making, and attentive listening. The key qualities he teaches students include the compassion and personal skills required to support and accompany patients.

For this Professor Emeritus, the award is also an opportunity to honour the students who have enabled him to develop the pedagogical and interpersonal skills that have made him a better teacher and human being.


Start looking for the next nominees in your network!
If you have any question, contact QMA.

Back to top